sarahbird spins

(and does other stuff, too)

you’ve got mail! July 24, 2007

Filed under: spinning — sarahbird @ 11:08 am

One of my favorite things is to come home and find a package of wool waiting for me. Last night I got a pound of superwash merino mill ends in the mail! Hooray! It was pretty exciting, especially since I found it on eBay (from Shpherder) for a really good price. $4 a pound! With shipping, it ended up being about $16, which is still really good. It said in the item description that the fiber needed re-carding. I don’t have carders or anything, but I figured at that price I might as well just buy it and see how it was. I think I’ll be able to spin it as it is. There are some roving-like pieces that I’ll definitely be able to spin, and the rest is sort of just…loose and fluffy. It’s going to take a little more work, but I’m reasonably sure that I’ll be able to spin most of it. I’m hoping it works, anyway, and that it won’t be too much of a PITA, because it’s really super nice fiber. It’s so soft and gorgeous.

Here it is in the box:

IMGP2133

And spread out on the table:

IMGP2134

I seperated it into little 2-ounce bags, so I’m going to dye up a few of them in a couple days and see what I can do with it.

I just checked her Ebay shop again and it looks like she sells superwash roving and pencil roving for $8/pound. If this doesn’t work out so well, that’s what I’ll order next time. But I’ve got my fingers crossed for this stuff….

Wish me luck!

ps – Thanks for all the encouragement about the quilt! I think you guys have convinced me to go for it, so stay tuned for progress on that!

 

Leave a Reply

