sarahbird spins

(and does other stuff, too)

l-o-v-e July 27, 2007

Filed under: celebrations,handspun,spinning,yarn — sarahbird @ 10:12 am

So I feel the need to show off the yarn I’ve been spinning lately. It’s from that rainbow roving that I dyed a month or so ago. I wasn’t sure how it was going to turn out at first, but as soon as I started spinning it I realized it was going to be gorgeous. I love how it has literally every color you can imagine in it, all blending and swirling together. It’s just so pretty! I want dye some more roving with a bunch of random colors just so I can spin it again. I’m also really glad I chose to spin it as a single. I basically just love everything about it.

Here it is:

IMGP2120

And a close-up:

IMGP2122

Yum.

I was also amazed at how much brighter some of the colors in this yarn are compared to the colors I normally get from Wilton’s when dyeing. I’m going to have to experiment a little with different dye concentrations next time I dye.

Oh, I also have a finished yarn to show you. This was my first time plying with thread, and I think it worked out well. I like the bumpy, bobbly look it has.

IMGP2074

I’m going out of town this weekend to celebrate a friend’s birthday, which I am very excited about. Enjoy your weekend!