sarahbird spins

(and does other stuff, too)

surprise surprise July 30, 2007

Filed under: knitting,yarn — sarahbird @ 8:27 pm

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m spending the summer working at a large fabric/craft store. I’ve pretty much ignored the yarn section of the store thus far, since I figured that it was all cheap, scratchy acrylic. But a few days ago, I was stocking yarn and I was totally amazed at what I found. There was organic cotton, alpaca, bamboo, cashmere. Cashmere?!? How did I not realize that I was working in a store that actually contained some really nice yarn? I bought two skeins of Paton’s SWS (Soy Wool Stripes), a gorgeous blend of, well, soy and wool. It’s super soft and shiny, and I love the colorway, Natural Geranium, which is a dark pink/light pink/tan. It’s seriously some of the nicest (commercial) yarn I’ve seen in a long time, and I’m super excited to knit with it. I’m thinking it’s going to be a scarf, probably for my future etsy shop, since, no matter how much I love this yarn, I really can’t justify knitting myself another scarf.

Here’s a picture for ya. Pretty, huh?

IMGP2186

I took a trip to Goodwill with a friend today, and bought this sweater.

IMGP2191

It’s pretty ugly, but I thought that the yarn it was made of was really cool. It’s blue, purple, and white, very thick and thin, almost handspun-looking.

IMGP2188

I found this tutorial on unraveling sweaters for their yarn. I think that this sweater has the right type of seams…I guess I’ll find out. I think it could look really nice knit into a scarf. Or a hat, or bag, or whatever. Pretty much anything besides the sweater it is, actually.

I also bought a ball winder online today! So that should be here sometime this week. I’m excited, I feel like I might get a little obsessed with winding all of my yarn into balls.

Wow, that’s actually a lot of stuff I’ve bought in the past few days! I need to start cutting back, until I get my next paycheck at least!

 

2 Responses to “surprise surprise”

  1. Cathy-Cate Says:

    Hope you get an employee discount!
    : )
    SWS felts really well (I found out by mistake, then later did it on purpose) if you ever have any desire to make a felted project with it. I had used a different colorway and the multidirectional scarf pattern with the SWS I bought last winter, and it looked great: till I decided to full it just a little, because I’d knitted pretty loosely…. it felted totally in about 5 minutes! So there went that scarf. Anyway, I like that colorway!
    Have fun recycling the sweater!

  2. Diana Says:

    SWS looks awesome in a calorimetry (found on knitty.com) or with the danica scarf pattern (also on knitty).

    And I’m jealous of your sweater find–I love that yarn!


Leave a Reply

