sarahbird spins

(and does other stuff, too)

yummy. August 14, 2007

Filed under: food,handspun,spinning,yarn — sarahbird @ 9:15 am

This post is just full of delicious things. First off, here’s some very yummy handspun. “Everlasting Gobstopper”, 70 yards, mill ends dyed with Wilton’s. I really like the way this one came out! I love the colors, and in some places the roving had two colors right next to each other so that they swirled together when I spun it, giving that sort of candy-stripe effect, which looks really cool. I’m going to try to dye some roving that will do that on purpose this week. I also like this picture, I took it on a table in our backyard. At first I thought maybe the background was too distracting, but I decided that it’s cool.

IMGP2269

Mmmm.

And more delicious things! Nathan and I went to the Farmer’s Market for the first time on Saturday, which was super exciting. I loved it, and we probably bought more things than was reasonable. But how can you resist? Blueberries, raspberries, peaches, watermelon and potatoes. Yum.

IMGP2289

Our farmer’s market trip led directly to this fantastic dinner being created.

IMGP2296

I’m pretty sure it was the first time either of us had actually made a real meal that didn’t involve mac and cheese or pb&j. We made orange roughy parmesan, which actually was fast, easy and delicious despite our total lack of experience. I don’t eat red or white meat (beef, chicken, pork etc.), but I do love seafood, so this is definitely something we’ll make again. We had it with farmer’s market potatoes with butter and parsley, and farmer’s market fruit salad. Seriously the best dinner that I’ve had in a long, long time.

I’m going to the Museum of Contemporary Art today! I’m excited. Have a fantastic Tuesday!

 

Leave a Reply

