sarahbird spins

(and does other stuff, too)

Playing Catch-Up! October 10, 2007

Filed under: etsy — sarahbird @ 10:24 pm
Tags:

I’ve been so busy the past few days that I haven’t been keeping up with 30 Days to a Better Shop over at christinaperdue.com/blog! I did Day 1 (from October 1st), but since then I’ve been falling behind. Today has been my catch-up day.

*Day 2 – Update your shop announcement – done!
*Day 3 – Revise the categories in your shop – I’m pretty happy with what I already had (Handspun Yarn, Recycled Yarn, and Paper Beads), so I decided to just leave them. Done!
*Day 4 – Update your profile – I didn’t completely follow the recommendations, but I did change it and add a bunch more information, so I think it’s a lot better. Soo…done!
*Day 5 – Update your banner/avatar – I already have a banner and avatar that I absolutely loooove, thanks to the wonderful laurasue on Etsy. Done!
*Days 6 & 7 – Update your listings/item titles – This one I’m not so sure about. I’m pretty sure I like the way my listings are written, since I spent a lot of time writing them not too long ago. The only thing I’m not sure about is whether it’s better to include specific numbers in the item’s titles. For example, would the item “Sunny Delight – Handspun Yarn” be better as “Sunny Delight – Handspun Yarn – 90 Yards”? Or maybe “Sunny Delight – 90 Yards of Handspun Yarn”? I really can’t decide if that makes the item title too long or if being more descriptive is better. So…any thoughts? I guess I’ll have to mark this one as not done for now.
*Day 8 – Update message to buyers – done!
*Day 9 – Join a Street Team – I have to admit that I really didn’t know what Street Teams were before I read this post. I looked into them, and it seems interesting, so I’ve applied to be a member of the Etsy Fiber Arts Street Team (EtsyFAST for short). So I’m going to consider this one…done!

Wow, 8 days of work accomplished in one! I’m pretty proud of myself! In other exciting Etsy news, my yarn Sand and Sky was recently featured in a treasury! It was my first time being in a treasury, so I was pretty excited about it. I’m not sure it really did a whole lot for my views, but it was really cool to know that someone liked my yarn enough to put it in their treasury!

Gosh, these past few posts have just been Etsy, Etsy, Etsy, haven’t they? I promise I’ll have some interesting fiber-related content for you soon…tomorrow hopefully!

 

Leave a Reply

