sarahbird spins

(and does other stuff, too)

New Roving! November 22, 2007

Filed under: dyeing,knitting,roving,spinning,yarn — sarahbird @ 12:17 am
Tags: , , ,

I came home from college today for Thanksgiving break, and to my excitement there was new roving waiting for me. It’s superwash(!) merino/viscose mill ends from shpherder and it’s GORGEOUS! It’s just about the silkiest, softest stuff I’ve ever felt in my life. I’m so glad I spent the extra 4 bucks and got the roving rather than the uncarded fiber, this stuff is going to be sooo much easier to spin. The only problem is, I realized today I have no idea what kind of dye viscose takes or even what it is! I posted in the craftster dyeing forum, so hopefully someone will be able to answer my question. I figure if worse comes to worse, the roving will just have bits of white in it where the viscose didn’t take the dye. I hope I can get it to work though, because I have looots of ideas for this roving. I want to spin some of it white and then ply it with metallic thread (silver or gold, what do you think?). I also want to try dyeing some of it in an ombre style, maybe a dark pink that gradually changes to light pink. I’m excited to get some dyeing done this Thanksgiving weekend!

In knitting news, I was looking at the patterns on Knitty today and I completely fell in love with this hat –
Foliage Hats!

Isn’t it gorgeous? I want like 10 of them. I wonder if I could make this pattern out of handspun…

Have a very happy Thanksgiving!

 

One Response to “New Roving!”

  1. chris Says:

    I’m sure you could use your handspun for those hats – why not?


Leave a Reply

