sarahbird spins

(and does other stuff, too)

New Roving, yum! September 25, 2008

Filed under: dyeing,roving,yarn — sarahbird @ 11:06 am
Tags:

Tuesday was a dyeing day! It was much needed – I was down to my last 4 oz of dyed roving. I dyed another pound, half superwash merino mill ends and half just regular mill ends. I’m trying to get into a good fiber schedule, and I feel like Tuesday and Thursday will be good dyeing days because I can easily dye a pound or so in the morning before my 1:30 class.

Here are my two favorites, both in superwash merino –

Blue and brown, one of my favorite color combinations.

DSCF2131

You might not be able to tell from this picture, but this one came out GORGEOUS when it was dry. It’s sort of a mix of reddish-pink, olive green, and steely blue. I LOVE it!

DSCF2135

I’ve recently switched to using jacquard acid dyes, after using Wilton’s forever, and I think it’s forcing me to be a lot more creative with my color choices. I only have red, blue, yellow, brown, and black, so if I want purple, or orange, or turquoise, or whatever, I have to mix it myself. I almost never get the color I’m aiming for, which is perfect – unexpected colors are so much more fun!

It made me smile to see that on Tuesday morning someone was searching my blog for information on “dyeing roving in oven”. I think it’s cool that some stranger out there on the internet was reading my blog for information on dyeing roving at the exact same time that I was actually doing it! People find my blog by searching for the weirdest phrases sometimes – someone stumbled across my site while searching for “Marie Antionette’s lips” yesterday – I bet they were disappointed!

The other exciting news from this week is that my roommate adopted a cat! He’s super adorable, very friendly and loves attention – he’ll in front of you and meow until you let him sit on your lap and snuggle! His name is Edgar Allan Paw, which as far as I’m concerned is the best name for a cat ever.

DSCF2150

What a cutie!

 

3 Responses to “New Roving, yum!”

  1. Your unexpected colors are just beautiful!!!

  2. Loving the colors (and the adorable kittie!)

  3. meekiyu Says:

    love to see another wordpress user thought i was alone out here lolol… i love your pictures on yarn… i actually never knew it was quite a job! btw me and my roommate adopted a kitty while her owner was away unfortunately she wasn’t as sweet as yours since she scratched up a good portion of my notes >_> lolol!


Leave a comment