sarahbird spins

(and does other stuff, too)

Books! February 22, 2009

Filed under: books,etsy — sarahbird @ 11:16 pm

I’m currently working my way through this huge pile of books:

DSCF4186

This year, I’m trying to complete the “999 Challenge” from Library Thing. The challenge involves choosing 9 categories, then picking 9 books within each category and reading them all in 2009. That’s 81 books! My complete list can be found here, if you’re interested in looking.

Today I finished Howard’s End, which I was reading for my classics category. I really enjoyed it! I tried to read it a few years ago and just couldn’t get into it, but this time I really like it. I’m finding that happening more and more with classics lately, I had the exact same experience with Vanity Fair a few months ago.

In crafting news, I ordered a bunch of thread for plying with my handspuns.

DSCF4333

I don’t know if you can tell how big those are from the photo, but they are huge! The two bigger spools each have 4600 yards of thread on them!!

I’ve also started making some new yarn tags that I’m really happy with. I got a really nice stamp with my shop information from JLMould a few weeks ago, and I’ve been looking for an eco-friendly way to use it. For these tags, I reused a cardboard cereal box. I cut the panels of the box apart and glued them together, with the coated (outside) sides of the box on the inside, so each side of the tag is a natural cardboard brown color. Then I just stamped each one and hole punched the corners, and they’re ready to go!

DSCF4337

 

One Response to “Books!”

  1. Jessica Lynn Says:

    I love how you used the stamp. Thank you for sharing. I hope to work with you again.

    Take Care,
    Jessica Lynn


Leave a Reply

