sarahbird spins

(and does other stuff, too)

Supersize Me! May 6, 2009

Filed under: books,dyeing — sarahbird @ 3:14 pm

I have been buying some GIANT supplies lately! I was running out of Jacquard acid dyes, so I ordered some more from dharmatrading.com, and this time I decided to get a bigger size. When they came I was so surprised – the jars are practically the size of my head! They are enormous.

For comparison, here’s a picture of one of my tiny little old jars next to the mega-sized new jars.

DSCF5022

I also bought a HUGE spool of crochet thread the other day. I don’t know if you can tell how big it is from this picture, but it is gargantuan – it’s over a mile and a half of thread! That’s enough for a LOT of corespun yarns.

DSCF4721

Classes just ended for the semester, and I have a few days before finals, so I’ve had lots of free time lately, which has been really nice. I’ve been spending a lot of it reading, and I’m right in the middle of a really interesting book right now – Bonk by Mary Roach. The subtitle is “The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex”, which pretty much sums up what it’s about. It’s all about different experiments and research that scientists have done throughout the centuries to try to understand all different aspects of sex. It’s also got tons of strange sex facts – definitely interesting, although some of them are not for the squeamish! But overall it’s a really fascinating book, and it’s not dry or overly scientific at all. I definitely recommend that you check it out!

bonk

 

Leave a Reply

